Gears of War 4 celebrates first birthday with quadruple XP and more

Gears of War 4 is officially a year old, and players are getting some goodies to celebrate.

October 11, 2017 officially marks one year since the launch of Gears of War 4. Gears developer The Coalition has already been celebrating the occasion with goodies like double XP and commemorative golden gear, but it is set to ratchet things up even more this week.

As announced on the Gears of War blog, players will be able to boost their XP gains even more for one day this week. Starting at 10 a.m. PT / 1 p.m. ET (5 p.m. GMT) on October 12, Gears of War 4 will award players with quadruple XP in both Horde and Versus mode for 24 hours. In addition, Gary Carmine is now permanently craftable for everyone starting now. Here's a look at everything else available in-game this week, from The Coalition:

  • There's still time to collect Golden Gear and Golden Gear weapon skins until October 13th, and then again from October 20th for a short time.
  • Golden Gun, the ultimate hip-fire insta-gib simulator (we guess), is still running! Get out there and nail those fancy-looking Quads until it disappears on the 16th.
  • Once 4XP is over, we'll be back to Double XP until October 16th!

Additionally, this weekend, a free commemorative weapon skin pack will be available in-game this weekend.

The Coalition has also teased some more goodies coming throughout the rest of 2017. Late October will see the final map drop for Gears of War 4, and a Halloween event will kick off as well around the same time. Looking past October, the Gears of War series will celebrate its eleventh anniversary, and The Coalition also has a month of celebrations in store to mark the occasion. And, of course, once the Xbox One X arrives on November 7, you can expect a special patch to drop with specific enhancements for the console.

See at Microsoft See at Amazon