Xbox One fall update preview rolling out to all Omega and Delta Insiders

The Xbox One fall update is now rolling out to everyone on the Delta and Omega Insider rings.

Microsoft has announced that the Xbox One fall update preview (1710) is headed to Xbox Insiders on the Delta and Omega rings. Initially available only on the Alpha and Beta rings, as well as for a small subset of Delta users, the Xbox fall update preview will now be open to a wider selection of testers as it edges toward release.

A wide number of new features are coming in the Xbox fall update, and the preview allows Insiders to test them out. The most noticeable change is the introduction of Microsoft's new Fluent Design System on the Xbox dashboard, which brings a new look as well as a redesigned Home menu layout. A new light theme is tagging along as well.

Delta and Omega ring Xbox Insiders will be able to start downloading the new build starting at 2 p.m. PT / 5 p.m. ET (9 p.m. GMT). If you use the Xbox One's Instant On mode, your console should automatically start downloading the update. If you'd prefer to do a manual install, you can head to All Settings > System > Console Info & Updates on your console to check for the update.

Xbox One fall update preview rolling out to all Omega and Delta Insiders

There's still no official expected release date for the Xbox fall update, but the PC equivalent, the Fall Creators Update has a release date set for October 17. Given that the fall Xbox update appears to be entering the final stages of testing, we can probably expect it to make its way to the public in a similar timeframe.

Have you had a chance to get your hands on the fall update preview? Let us know what you think in our forums!

What do you think of the new Xbox One update so far?